Top Stories
Front Page
Student Life
Science & Environment
Arts & Entertainment

People & Places
Kalamalama Archive


HPU Clubs


Cross Country

Hot Links
Club awards banquet a success
by Crystal Silva, Etcetera editor


A good time was had by all April 10 at the ASHPU Club Awards Banquet. The event, held at the Radisson Prince Kuhio Hotel, mixed laughter, some tears, and, thanks to the United Samoan Organization, joyful chant.


Click on image for larger view
Mistresses of Ceremonies Colleen Hyde and Mary Thongvahn, ASHPU Representatives at Large, started off the proceedings by asking Director of Student Life Heather Hubbard to summarize the achievements of the RIOs, including cultural events, cleaning of public beaches, and hosting of educational speakers. Thanks to the RIOs, Hubbard said “the university and the greater Hawai‘i community benefited.”


Hubbard also recognized the members of ASHPU. “As their advisor, I have been honored to work with these people and am looking forward to another great year,” she said.

The first award of the evening was given to Liz Tiglao, the Associate Director of Student Life, on behalf of the ASHPU members and University President Chatt G. Wright, Vice President Rick Stepien, Nancy Ellis, and special events coordinator Steve Simpson.

Sophomore Kelly Collins was called on to give a grace, and dinner was served. While listening to the local stylings of Hanale Ka‘anapu and Company, students feasted on a variety of salads, a scallop and shrimp medley, grilled veggies, fresh fruit, rolls, rice, garlic mashed potatoes, coconut chicken, mahimahi, and roast beef.

For dessert, students enjoyed bread pudding with haupia sauce, fresh fruit tortes, chocolate truffle cake, macadamia nut cream, standard apple, and banana cream pies.

Awards were given to the most outstanding club member of every RIO. Every presenter made it very evident through jokes, stories, and laughter that there was definitely a feeling of ‘ohana within each club.

ASHPU presented an award to its own most active member, Eric Hansen. The first-time award for Rookie Club of the Year went to the Creative Writing Club. Francine Lowell walked away with the Advisor of the Year award for her work with SIFE and the Alaka‘i Jaycees. The Jaycees also took top honors as Club of the Year. The Most Philanthropic Club award, given in recognition of achievement in the area of community service, was given in a tie vote to the Pre-Med Society and Christian Fellowship. Event of the Year went to the German Student Association’s Ultimate Soccer Cup Event. The United Samoan Organization deservedly won Most School Spirited Club. “I’m ecstatic,” said Sima Fine, USO secretary. “Ecstatic and overwhelmed.”

ASHPU President Collette Kuntz gave her farewell address, after which the results of the 2003-2004 ASHPU elections were made. Following the announcements, newly elected ASHPU President Danielle Yadisernia was sworn in by also newly elected ASHPU Treasurer Selena Mello and presented with the official President’s Gavel.

An unofficial surprise award was saved for last, and presented to Heather Hubbard in recognition of her “amazing efforts” as advisor of ASHPU and as Director of Student Life.

“I really enjoyed club awards banquet,” said Anna Bellizzi, a senior journalism major who attended the club awards banquet for the first time. “I feel that event really expressed the spirit of HPU.”




©2003, Kalamalama, the HPU Student Newspaper. All rights reserved.
This site is maintained by Johan Astrom
Website done by Rick Bernico