Top Stories
Front Page
Student Life
Science & Environment
Arts & Entertainment
People & Places
Kalamalama Archive


HPU Clubs


Cross Country

Hot Links

Tennis and cross-country standouts earn HPU’s top student-athlete honors Trainer Mitnick wins “Super Fan” Award

by Kalamalama staff

More than 300 students, faculty and staff were present to honor Matey Pampulov and Janine Brown as HPU’s 2003-04 Scholar-Athletes of the Year at the University’s annual student-athlete awards banquet at the Sheraton Moana Surfrider hotel April 30.

Pampulov. this year’s the Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year, is a junior tennis player from Dornbirn, Austria and an ITA/NCAA Scholar Athlete. A two-time Pacific West Conference first-team singles and doubles player and a two-time Academic All-Conference selection, he is also is a member of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) and a President’s Host. Pampulov is working toward his Master of Science in Information Systems degree and has a 4.0 cumulative grade point average. On the court he has an overall singles record of 38-12 and a doubles record of 44-8 and is ranked No. 12 in the nation.  

Brown, a senior from Ashford, United Kingdom and this year’s Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year, helped the Lady Sea Warriors capture four of the five Hawai‘i cross country Invitationals and finished 11th out of 154 runners at the NCAA Division II West Region Championships. Also a member of SAAC and a President’s Host, she has a 3.23 cumulative GPA and will graduate May 19 with a Bachelor of Arts in Sociology.

SAAC is an NCAA-mandated committee comprised of student-athletes designed to improve the overall college experience for student-athletes.

The Emma Mauz “Super Fan” Award was created in memory of Emma Mauz, a dedicated and loyal fan of high school athletics. Her son, sportswriter Frank Mauz, and the HPU athletic department started this tradition in 1991 to pay tribute to the “Super Fan.” HPU athletic trainer Jason Mitnick was a unanimous selection for this year’s Emma Mauz “Super Fan” Award.

The newly created Sea Warrior Award went to baseball standout Kai Austin and volleyball’s Davina Dobson. The Award was created to honor student-athletes who demonstrated excellence not only in academics and on the playing field or surface, but who also embodied good sportsmanship and active participation in community service projects.

Top scholar-athlete awards are also given annually to the male or female student-athletes in every sport who have exhibited excellence in the classroom, on the playing field, and in the community. This year’s awards, by sport, are:


Baseball Kai Austin

Basketball Zach Stephens

Men’s Cross Country Abdeslam Naji

Women’s Cross Country Janine Brown

Men’s Club Soccer Daniel Wagner

Women’s Club Soccer Jill Fujimoto

Softball Anuhea Diamond

Men’s Tennis Matey Pampulov

Women’s Tennis Loni Matsunaga

Volleyball Briana Marinas

Band Sean Robinson

Co-Ed Cheer Rachel Kettering

Female Cheer Tabitha Corn

Dance Nicole Scott

Emma Mauz Jason Mitnick






2004, Kalamalama, the HPU Student Newspaper. All rights reserved.
This site is maintained by Mark Smith
Website done by Rick Bernico