Top Stories
Front Page
Student Life
Science & Environment
Arts & Entertainment
Military Matters
Kalamalama Archive


HPU Clubs


Cross Country

Hot Links

Honors Banquet - celebrating HPU's best and brightest

by Desiree Ramirez, staff writer

HPU’s 22nd Annual Honors Banquet was held March 13 at the Hawaii Prince Hotel in Waikiki. The event, which honors HPU’s top scholars and most distinguished students was co-hosted by Vice President and Dean of Student Support Services Nancy Ellis and Dr. John Kearns, HPU’s interim dean for business.

Prominent guests included University President Chatt G. Wright and HPU Trustees William Aull, chairman, Martin Anderson, Dr. Frank E. Butterworth, Allen Zecha, and Jack Lockwood.
Other guests included:

Wilmer Morris, the executive vice president of Aston Hotels And Resorts, and Matt Bailey presented the Aston Resort Quest Hawai‘i Scholarship to Nelly Pager and Karin Wanscher.

Allan Uyeda, president, and CEO, presented the First Insurance Company of Hawai ‘i scholarship to Sasa Pirc.

Marcia Taira, director of human resources for Oceanic Time-Warner Cable presented the Society For Human Resource Management Hawai‘i—Education Foundation Scholarship to John Leogite.
Susie Hearst, sales manager for KHON, and Gregg Mueller, former president of the Hawai‘i Association Of Broadcasters, presented HAB scholarships to Victoria Barela, Kristane Gaspar, Rebecca Ford, and Carly Geisler.

Bernice Abraham presented the Louis Abraham Award For Excellence In Computer Science to Walker Paul Hofmann and Jim Humble III.

Katherine Payne, daughter of former HPU trustee, the late Dr. John H. Payne, presented the John H. Payne Scholarship to Victoria Woodhouse.

Richard Palma presented the Marley Irons Memorial Scholarship, given to students in the nursing program in memory of the Palma’s daughter, Marley C. Irons, to Lisa Daniel, Cary Nakamoto, and Najma Kearney.


Bob Dye, accompanied by his daughter, Hi‘ilei, presented the Kamakia Scholarship established in memory of the late Mrs. Tessa Magoon Dye, to Sondra-May Noelani Kaawa.

Yvette Gibson, recruiting supervisor for Enterprise Rent-a-Car, was joined by Todd Wheeler, area manager, and Wayne Tanaka, vice president to present Enterprise Rent-A-Car Foundation Scholarships to Treva Grieg and Jared Moser.

Dr. Frank E. Butterworth gave the night’s invocation.

The first group recognized were scholarship winners: the University Scholars, a group of freshman enrolled in a special sequence of challenging honors courses at HPU; the President’s Scholars for the fall 2004 freshman class: graduates of local public and private high schools whose outstanding scholastic achievement and well-rounded backgrounds merited up to a 100 percent tuition waiver; and the two HPU/Hawai‘i Publishers Association Journalism Scholarship winners.

The 2004-2005 officers of the Associated Students of Hawai‘i Pacific University and the Graduate Student Organization, were recognized as student leaders and for the countless volunteer hours they work on behalf of their fellow students.

The Kalamalama staff was recognized for its efforts reporting campus and community news.

Literary magazine advisor Patrice Wilson introduced the Hawai‘i Pacific Review student editors.

Lt. Col. Bibiana Laborte of the U.S. Air Force ROTC program and Lt. Col. Jim Johnson, of the U.S. Army ROTC program introduced the ROTC leadership and cadets.

Dr. Les Correa, associate vice president of academic administration, presented the 17th Annual HPU Writing Awards for high school students. He was followed by Dr. John Fleckles, vice president of academic adminstration, who presented the University Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Writing.

Kearns acknowledged the donors of HPU scholarships and introduced two new scholarships, the first established by HPU Trustee Allen Zecha and his wife Nobukoto benefit freshmen students of Asian heritage who demonstrate leadership and sportsmanship. “The Zechas both came to the United States to pursue doctorate degrees. {They] are committed to global education,” Kearns said, “and appreciate HPU’s philosophy, with its international emphasis and academic curriculum.”

The second scholarship was established in 1986 by the late Dr. Elizabeth Kehrer Anderson. In her memory, her children support the scholarship fund in order to assist students who are interested in bettering their community through the study of the ocean and the environment around them.

President Wright presented the Margaret Hustace Pietsch Memorial scholarship and the Eleanor Meader Putnam Memorial Scholarship, both of which were established in memory of women who touched many lives. The former was awarded to Brandee Kozuyo Chong, May Lamotte, Greer Allison Tison, and Michell Fay Van Hessen. The latter was awarded to Nicole Maria Pinketti.

HPU Chaplain Dale Burke presented The Doo Wook and Helen Nahm Choy Scholarship, which is awarded to students who are active in the Christian ministry, to Charles Chako and Vitus Dzekedze.

Dr. Gordon Jones presented the J. Watumull Scholarships, for undergraduate or graduate students pursuing degrees in business, to Milan Adhikari, Vijay Gadigeppa, Shoukat Hajiyani, Swornima Karki, Satheesh Chakravarthi, and Annapoorani Murali.

Warren Wee, associate dean of Business Administration, presented the Hawai‘i Accounting Educational Foundation Scholarship to Cindy Gozum.

The Pacific Islands Institute-Diana W. Lockwood Memorial Scholarship is given to students from the South Pacific Islands. Andrew Lockwood, CEO of the Pacific Islands Institute, presented it to Sovaia Matalau and Laura Thuy Smithline.

TIM professor Dr. Jerome Agrusa presented the Paul C.T. Loo and Vi Shaw Loo Scholarship, for an undergraduate student who is involved in community service to Qiao-Rou Lim.

Dr. Ken Cook, professor of linguistics, presented the Bossert Scholarship to Aaron Loy Anlun.

The final awards of the evening were presented by President Wright and Heather Hubbard, director of Student Life to the undergraduate and graduate winners of the distinguished Robert E. Black Awards for Excellence.


2005, Kalamalama, the HPU Student Newspaper. All rights reserved.
This site is maintained by Mark Smith
Website done by Rick Bernico