.Front Page


.Student Life

.Science & Environment

.Arts & Entertainment




.People & Places

.Women's Life

.Military Matters





.About Us



by Kaylee Noborikawa, staff writer

The program began at 6:30 p.m. with Athletic Director Jill Ward opening the ceremony and introducing host Chris Hart, who does the HPU Sports Beat radio show every Tuesday morning on KKEA 1420 AM. Once Reverend Dale Burke blessed the food, student athletes helped themselves to a wide selection of buffet dishes and a table of delectable desserts, including macadamia cream pie and chocolate dobash cake.

Following the dinner, Hart introduced each team’s accomplishments in 2005-2006, and their scholar-athlete (See list of winners below).

Following the scholar-athlete awards, Hart recognized some of the supporters of HPU Athletics: the HPU Cheer and Dance teams, and the HPU Band, all of which support the volleyball and basketball teams by performing at every home and local away game.

Hart then presented special recognition awards. Donnell Dobbins, of the HPU basketball team, received the Sea Warrior Award, which is given to the student athlete who has demonstrated excellence on the playing field, portrayed good sportsmanship, and participated in community service projects. Dobbins’ community service efforts include Hurricane Katrina Relief and Special Olympics basketball.

The Emma Mauz “Super Fan” Award was presented to Associate Professor of accounting and finance Jack Karbens, who encourages faculty, staff, and students to attend HPU athletic events. The award is given every year to the most loyal Sea Warrior fan, the one who “bleeds blue and green.”

President Chatt Wright made a special appearance to present the Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards. Three-time all-star Akihide Adachi, of the men’s soccer team, claimed the men’s title with a 3.95 GPA in international business. Three-time all-region performer, and the 2005 second team AVCA All-American Flavia Brakling, a journalism major with a 3.49 GPA, took the women’s.

Brakling, along with Kyle Galdeira, Kalamalama editor and reserve infielder on the baseball team, and Dani Young from the softball team, were inducted into the Chi Alpha Sigma National Honor Society.

Wright also presented a tribute to Faculty Athletics Representative Barbara Burke for her loyalty, performance, and dedication to the Athletics department. Burke received a standing ovation from the audience as she passed the torch to Barbara Hannum, who will replace her starting this summer.
Ward believes that the banquet was a success and that it is important to honor student athletes. “Each and every one of them should be commended for the long hours that are required to juggle academics and athletics, while still finding the time to experience college life,” she said.

And the winners are...

Men’s cross country Matt Stevens (again)
Women’s cross country Masako Sagawa
Volleyball Flavia Brakling
Basketball Adam Reinking
Men’s tennis Jan Hroch
Women’s tennis Josefine Paulie
Baseball Kyle Galdeira
Softball Clerisse Lemke
Men’s golf Brian Keller
Women’s golf Kristine Higa
Men’s soccer Akihide Adachi
Women’s soccer Kerianne Pascua
Large co-ed cheer squad Zach Giano
All-girl cheer team Lauren Muckleroy
Sea Warrior Band Malia Ann Martin
Dance team Brienne Frazier



Kalamalama, the HPU Student Newspaper. All rights reserved.

Web site designed by Robin Hansson.and maintained by Christina Failma

Web Counter

Untitled Document